August 28, 2013

  • Bethany Hamilton Engaged to Be Married. Awesome Read. This Girl Surfer Lost Her Arm to a Shark.

    IN LOVE
    By Bethany (click here to read the story from Adam’s P.O.V.)

    Spring of 2012 I met the most amazing person of my life. 
    I immediately was so intrigued by him.
    Adam and I first met at the beach, kind of set up by friends.
    Not how I would have planned to meet – on somewhat of a “blind date” (haha) – but nooo complaints.

    The first thing we did was jump off a cliff together! And you could say it was love at first cliff jump. We started hanging out often. Just as friends – hiking, beach, tennis, hanging with friends – getting to know each other! The more time we spent together the more I liked Adam. He is genuine, kind, fun, adventurous, easy going, friendly to all, passionate for Christ and just a great guy over all! …and he liked me too!

    Learning to love in a new way.
    I’ve always loved my parents and my family immensely and found loving friends easy.
    I have had a deep love for God since I was really young girl. Christ is the greatest definition of love and it’s been amazing to learn from the greatest! But to open up your heart to a complete stranger and learning to love a new person; it’s different; it’s beautiful. I believe it’s what God has created for us; but it can be intimidating. God knew my heart, my thoughts, concerns and desires; and He has heard my prayers. Ever since I was a young girl I wondered what my special person would be like; so I would pray for the right guy, and do my best to trust that God would give me what I desired one day. I never had the desire to meet a ton of guys, or to “experience” different people. I just wanted to be patient for that right one – the one God had in store for me – to share life with that special someone in a deep and beautiful friendship.

    To be loved by another is beautiful. It took a bit of time for me to accept that. I’m not sure why. But I questioned: “Why would this man love me as much as he does?” “How can he accept me, flaws and all?” Not to mention, “Will he accept my unique life and come along side of me in support?” “How can he love me and all that my life is made of?” “Will he love me life-long?” But I know Adam’s love for me is unique – it comes from Christ, and that he will love me forever.

    Learning to love. I guess it comes back to my first love besides my family – the unconditional love of Christ. Having that makes it easier to love all. And eventually when you meet that special one you get to take that love of Christ and smother that special one in the love that you know. My love for Adam… I really don’t think I could explain it out to you, it’s strong and it’s unique.

    On April 9, 2012, Adam proposed to me and I said, “yes!” I know Adam and I are right for each other and that God has us together for Him. Neither of us is perfect, but in my eyes Adam is just right and I’m thankful to have someone so perfectly perfect to share life with as one.

    Marriage – a life commitment to be brought together as one. So beautiful! Adam and I have been taking steps to prepare for a healthy beautiful marriage. It’s been fun! We are doing Bible-based pre-marital guidance with an older and wiser couple. We are going through some books. Often praying together and separately. And in all this, falling more in love and enjoying every bit of our engagement time! We take marriage seriously. Right now things are lovey-dovey and it’s fun and beautiful, but we want our love to remain through thick and thin. When we have hard times, we can rely on Christ and grow closer and stronger in our love and relationship. We know we can only prepare so much, but look forward to learning and growing together as we share life – to love beyond just a feeling. We will choose to love during thick and thin. (1 Corinthians 13)

    I’m really glad too that my family loves Adam and approves. They see what a great guy he is. I feel spoiled (;
    His family is awesome too. Our families have very different lives, so it’s cool to find beauty in our differences.
    I’m really excited to keep getting to know Adam, to adventure with him and to smother him with love and respect!

    I hope to grow more and more in love each day for you, Adam my love, and above all in my love for Christ!
    I’m so thankful for you and look forward to living life together!
    Adam, I love you and I’m here to stay!
    ~Bethany

    Matthew 19:6 (ESV)
    “So they are no longer two but one flesh. What therefore God has joined together, let not man separate.”

    1 Corinthians 13:4-7
    “Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It is not rude, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.”

    1 John 4:7
    “Dear friends, let us love one another, for love comes from God. Everyone who loves has been born of God and knows God.”

    Ephesians 5:33
    “However, each one of you also must love his wife as he loves himself, and the wife must respect her husband.”

    Ephesians 5:25
    “Husbands, love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her.”

    1 Peter 3:3-4 (ESV)
    “Do not let your adorning be external—the braiding of hair and the putting on of gold jewelry, or the clothing you wear—but let your adorning be the hidden person of the heart with the imperishable beauty of a gentle and quiet spirit, which in God’s sight is very precious.”

    Genesis 2: 18 
    “Then the Lord God said, ‘It is not good that the man should be alone; I will make him a helper fit for him.’”

     

    Copyright. 2013. BethanyHamilton.com All Rights Reserved.

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *